Missent messages can now be deleted within 24 hours, leaving only a record in the chat history
TOKYO – December 13, 2017 – LINE Corporation went live today with an "Unsend" feature, which allows users to delete missent messages on the LINE app within 24 hours of sending.
LINE believes that casual, day-to-day conversations are characterized by prompt messaging in real-time, and initially felt that an Unsend feature would take away from this user experience. However, as LINE is also making efforts to enhance functionality to improve usability and expand users' communication choices, LINE chose to add this feature allowing users to delete missent messages so that they can have peace of mind and communicate even better on LINE.
To delete a message, press and hold a sent message and choose "Unsend" from the menu that appears. Then, the selected message will be removed from the sender's and recipient's devices, * and a notification will be shown in the chat room indicating that a message has been deleted.
* Messages can only be deleted with the latest version of the LINE app.
The following message types, whether read or unread, can be deleted within 24 hours of being sent: text and voice messages, stickers, images, videos, URLs, LINE MUSIC links, contacts, location information, files, and call history. The feature supports both the mobile and desktop versions of LINE, and can be used in 1-to-1 chats, multiple-user chats, and group chats. However, smartphone OS notifications cannot be deleted.
Please see the LINE official blog for more details on the Unsend feature:
Under its mission of "Closing the Distance," LINE will continue to create rich forms of communication and provide its users with an even more convenient and secure service.